top of page

Prototype (Employee Mobile App)


For the prototypes, I was in charge of the mobile applications and Dom worked on the desktop app. This was because we both retrospectively worked on each application. This would also helps us get through the prototyping very quickly.

I decided to use UX Pin for the prototyping of the mobile applications. I used this because I have used it previously in other pieces of work and found that it is really good for animation and transitions such as slides and swipes.

I worked on the Employee app first. This was mostly due to being a lot more confident with the shift app and how I wanted everything to work. I recreated a lot of elements such as titles, body copy and buttons in UX pin as it was much easier than just importing lots of png's. This also helped to create a better quality final product. The initial process of setting the app up was very long winded as I needed to base everything off the artwork so it looked consistent. Once everything was set up, I could implement it to the rest of the pages.

With the transitions and animations, this is where UX pin really came in to its own. For example, on the homepage, the horizontal scroll works exactly how I wanted it to. Also on the shift swap page, the ability to swipe on a shift to reveal the shift swap feature worked perfectly. The slide out hamburger menu was also very easy to do: I just adding the nav to the side of the page and creating a transition for it to slide out on a click.

I am very pleased with the app and how well the animations work.

bottom of page